fbpx .

在我们的一日游中,我们经常听到“我不想离开!” 问题解决了。 我们的 Overnight Toroweap Photography Tours 是独家的、独特的 Dreamland Safari Tours。

价格

成年 $399.00

私人旅游升级可用吗?

联系我们获取定制选项

行程长度

25小时

出发时间

12pm-12pm

难度 (1-10)

2

推荐能力

Toroweap 的难点是地基不平和大石头。 远足距离由客人决定。 在这次荒野旅行冒险之旅中,有很多空闲时间可以探索边缘。
这次旅行不需要特别许可。

位置

犹他州卡纳布

景点

Toroweap (Tuweep)

特殊利益

地质、摄影、野生动物、花卉
您的旅行包含哪些内容?

一日游包括当地酒店的接送服务、越野交通、自然历史叙述、带导游的徒步旅行、照片建议、小吃、水和 6 小时或更长时间的午餐。 我们的多日游包括所有这些以及露营设备、营地管理、三顿美味佳肴、观星、摄影师的日落和日出,以及更多的户外时间。

我们应该多久预订?

这取决于几个因素,但我们最好的建议是在您完成计划后立即预订。 我们确实填满了,如果您的机会窗口有限,您可能会错过。 您的空房窗口越小,日程安排越紧凑,您需要越早预订以确保空房。 您的团队规模越大,尤其是涉及我们的多辆卡车(>7 名乘客)时,您需要越早预订。

我如何预订我的日期?

您可以在线预订或联系我们。 我们确实需要 50% 的押金来预订您的一日游日期,并需要 1/3 的押金来预订多日游。 剩余的余额应在您出发时的旅行当天支付。 您的导游可以采用任何付款方式。

我可以通过现金、Paypal、信用卡、支票支付吗?
如果您有兴趣以现金或支票付款,请 立即联系 直接地。 您可以使用信用卡在线预订,也可以通过电话联系我们下订单。 由于人们滥用了我们的政策而我们没有追索权,因此我们不再接受 PayPal。
你的天气政策是什么? 您的取消/重新安排政策是什么?

这些政策都可以在我们的网站上找到 政策页面. 请注意:由于天气不断变化,目标在整个地区(我们的卡车)移动,天气预报的不可预测性,不同地区不同路面的复杂性,就该地区的覆盖范围和数量而言,风暴的可变性质,而且事实上,一些最佳摄影天气往往是有可能下雨的日子,我们不会在没有可靠信息的情况下条件反射地取消旅行。 但是,在无可辩驳的证据使我们相信可能存在潜在危险情况的情况下,您的安全始终是最重要的,因此我们将在必要时取消旅行。 我们将假设旅行将持续到出发时间。 我们不会在出发时间之前取消旅行,因为最相关的信息就在手头。 此外,如果我们知道某个特定的区域或时间会出现问题,我们会经常咨询旅行中的所有各方,以了解如何最好地重新安排路线、推迟或取消。 尝试在旅行前几个小时通过电话进行管理几乎是不可能的。 如果一方因天气预报原因决定在出发时间之前取消,取消将受标准政策的约束。 如果无法找到其他解决方案,我们在出发时取消预订将全额退款。 此外,我们在任何给定时间掌握的信息通常都是不完整的。 例如,我们不知道 Wave 是否被雪覆盖,或者路线是否可徒步旅行,在给定位置的道路是否无法通行等等……因为我们在这些偏远地区没有网络摄像头。 如果可以,我们确实尝试建立网络以获取更好的信息。 有时,只有在游览开始后才能找到无可辩驳的证据。 我们了解到,与我们采取的策略相比,猜测,然后是反射性取消,对每个参与者都会产生更糟糕的结果。 做出这些决定非常非常复杂。 我们一直在监测天气,并且在管理受该地区天气影响的物流方面拥有多年的经验。 请相信我们会以我们双方的最佳利益行事。

我们乘坐什么样的车辆? 你们提供 ATV/Jeep Tours 吗?

我们所有的旅行都在雪佛兰郊区或 Crew Cab Silverados 中进行,以确保舒适和安全。 我们不提供 ATV 或 Jeep Tours。

一日游/过夜游需要带什么?

在一日游中你需要记住的最重要的事情是一个小包来携带你自己的水(特别是在徒步旅行中必不可少),保暖和防雨夹克(必不可少),靴子或高帮运动鞋(可选,但在沙子中最佳) 、任何必要的药物和相机。 其他物品包括寒冷时的额外衣物、帽子、太阳镜、防晒霜、唇膏和其他典型的日间杂物。 对于预定的过夜,除了一两层外,其他都一样。 你不需要换衣服。 6 月或 24 月过夜,请带上保暖的帽子和手套。 对于定制的多日旅行,只需更换一两件衣服即可。 在所有旅行中,我们都提供水和小吃。 在超过 24 小时的一日游和超过 XNUMX 小时的多日游中,我们提供午餐。 在预定的 XNUMX 小时过夜,我们不提供午餐,所以请在来之前吃饱。

一年中不同时间那里的天气如何?

您可以找到卡纳布的平均每月温度和降水量 这里 并阅读我们的 博客文章 关于这个话题。

我们想为您安排一次过夜旅行,但无法安排您的任何预定日期。 我们有哪些选择?

根据我们的日程安排,我们可以添加或更改日期。 请联系我们,告知您对哪个旅游感兴趣以及您正在考虑的日期。 可以根据可用性安排定制的多天 APR-OCT。

Toroweap / Tuweep Tour 之旅的宾客体验

知识渊博且令人愉快的向导,前往非常偏远的地方及其周围没有问题。 参观大峡谷西部的 Toroweap 令人难忘,并拍摄了一些照片,让我所有的朋友和家人都惊叹不已。 绝对是近期西南之旅的一大亮点。 唯一的缺点是价格似乎略高于高端,尤其是对于独行旅客而言,但在这种情况下非常值得。

传单02153382011 – 8 年 2019 月 XNUMX 日
到到网

在网上看到这个令人惊叹的地方的照片后,我一直想参观 Toroweap Overlook 好几年了。 然而,我没有办法自己开车出去,当我发现 Dreamland 在那里做了一日游时,我不得不预订它! 我和我的妻子度过了一段美好的时光。 这条 60 英里长的土路有时很危险,但我们的导游安德里亚是一位熟练的司机,可以毫无问题地驾驶道路上的一切。 我也很感激 Dreamland 在我们预订旅行时注意到了我的要求。 有时,如果我坐在 8 座车辆的后座或远后座上,我可能会晕车。 我询问了预订前排座位——他们为我做了! 这是一次非常随意、悠闲的旅行,“让我们享受进出的跋涉和我们将要看到的自然美景”之类的旅行,这正是我们想要的。 Dreamland 去了很多目的地——我知道我和我的妻子将来会回到卡纳布并再次与他们预订。

davej533 – 3 年 2019 月 XNUMX 日
到到网

我的堂兄、她的朋友和我与 Dreamland Safari Tours 一起去了 Toroweap。 我们的向导史蒂夫是一个天生的户外人,他带我们安全地游览了大峡谷的一个偏远的外墙,很少有人见过。 史蒂夫向我们展示了美丽的风景,还有一群叉角羚跑过我们的小路。 我们喜欢 Dreamland Safari,我们会在以后的所有旅行中找 Steve。

发现41920760798 – 16 年 2019 月 XNUMX 日
到到网

我们参加了 White Pocket / South Coyote Buttes 之旅和 Peek-a-Boo / White Wave 之旅。 我们在这两次旅行中的导游都非常出色,他们知识渊博、乐于助人、友好且风度翩翩。 提供的午餐、饮料和小吃非常好。 我认为我们没有比这更好的旅行了。

梦想家54252255082 – 14 年 2019 月 XNUMX 日
到到网

我和 Dreamland Safari 一起去了 Toroweap,玩得很开心! 伊丽莎白和猎户座是很棒的向导。 他们知识渊博,风度翩翩。 Toroweap 是一个令人惊叹的地方,但非常偏远。 独自旅行,我不会一个人去。 与了解该地区并知道如果出现问题时该怎么做的人在一起真是太好了。 这是我与 Dreamland Safari 的第二次旅行。 我在 2017 年和他们一起参观了 White Pocket,并且度过了同样美好的时光。 我建议与 Dreamland Safari 一起旅行。

探索亚利桑那州 – 22 年 2019 月 XNUMX 日
到到网

我们的 Toroweap 过夜摄影之旅让摄影师、情侣和家庭能够在这个偏远的大峡谷北缘观景点优化他们的荒野旅行冒险。

Overnight Toroweap Photography Tour

虽然这次旅行通常是根据定制的方式提供给更大的团体,但我们也安排了几个常设日期,以便情侣和单身人士可以利用这个独家的、私人的 大峡谷体验。

总而言之,您将获得美国西南部最好的荒野旅行探险之旅之一。 这次旅行包括:

  • 有更多时间享受这个偏远的大峡谷观景点
  • 捕捉日落、日出和美国大陆一些最佳夜空的最佳摄影时机。
  • 晚餐和早餐都很棒的家常饭菜。 不含午餐。
  • 舒适的营地环境,备有厕所、桌椅、帐篷、气垫、睡袋和寒冷时的羽绒被。
  • 在 4 英里的崎岖土路上安全、舒适的 4×62 运输。 可应要求安排往返营地和 Rim 观景点的乘车服务,但由于后勤方面的考虑,可用性有限。
  • 紧急情况下的荒野急救指南和卫星信使。

下面列出了目前安排的过夜 Toroweap 摄影之旅。 有时会添加、删除或更改日期,因此请不时查看。 如果您想预订这次旅行,请单击下面的“立即预订”按钮开始在线预订或致电 435-644-5506。 如果您在下面没有看到您想要的日期,也请给我们打电话。 过夜季节是四月到十月。

2021日期

四月23-24
5月15-16
25月26-XNUMX日**特价:总计 月食**
6月6-7
7月8-9
7月27-28
八月28-29
九月8-9
九月25-26
10月15-16

2022日期

四月26-27
3 月 4-XNUMX 日(Cody York White Pocket & Toroweap Milky Way Workshop)
5月14-15
5月27-28
6月5-6
九月8-9
九月21-22
10月7-8
10月25-26

 

 

夜间 TOROWEAP 摄影之旅不需要特别许可。 通过偏远地区许可证办公室进行的露营预订包含在价格中,并由我们提前获得。

请注意: 由于政府的新要求,我们必须收集您团队中每个人的联系信息。 请准备好提交每位参与者的全名、地址、电子邮件和电话号码。 国家公园管理局保留单独联系预订方的任何成员以确保他们是“经过验证的客户”的权利。

全程导览

摄影天堂!

有趣的地质!

行程內容

第1天

中午 12:00 – 客人在 4350 East Mountain View Drive, Kanab, Utah 84741 集合。他们可以将汽车或额外行李留在此处。 来之前请先吃午饭。

下午 2:45 – 露营设备在 Toroweap 露营地放下,客人被护送到边缘。

下午 3:00 – 导游带领团队前往边缘区域,并带领短途徒步旅行到上游和下游的景色,然后返回营地进行设置。 客人可以在天黑/晚餐前自由活动。

7:45 – 8:45pm – 日落摄影

晚上 9 点 15 分 – 晚餐(晚餐时间较晚,可以拍摄日落至天黑)

晚上 10:00 至就寝时间 – 清理、篝火、讨论、放松、天文学、明星照片

第2天

5:00am – 叫醒服务、咖啡和松饼

6:30 – 7:30am – 日出摄影

8:00am – 全套牛仔早餐

8:30am – 导游收拾行装,客人探索营地周边地区

9:30am – 离开 Toroweap 露营地

12:00pm – 抵达卡纳布

关于 Toroweap

当国家地理出版纪念大峡谷国家公园 100 周年的特刊时,他们选择了 Toroweap 的景色作为封面。 真的没有其他大峡谷的观点像它一样。 陡峭的红色悬崖从 3,000 英尺高的地方落入强大的科罗拉多河。 站在这里感觉就像站在大峡谷的内峡谷——不需要徒步旅行。 穿过峡谷到南缘的华拉派印第安人保留区不到一英里,使其成为内峡谷最窄、最深的部分之一。

那些站在 Toroweap 边缘的人实际上可以听到浑浊的河流流经巨大的峡谷和椽子在经过熔岩瀑布的惊险骑行后的叫声和呼喊声。 上游和下游的广阔河流景观标志着 Toroweap。 东边的 Hermit 页岩和 Supai 砂岩的彩色红色岩石与流向西边的黑色玄武岩熔岩形成鲜明对比。

Toroweap 是 Paiute 词,表示干燥或荒凉的山谷。 Tuweep 开始用来描述当地的白人聚居地,后来又用来描述公园区。 Paiute 词 Tuweep 指的是地球。

前往 Toroweap

我们的旅行穿过羚羊谷路,61 英里未铺砌的英里,到达这个偏远的大峡谷观景点。 我们从亚利桑那州弗雷多尼亚和管泉国家纪念碑之间的 389 号高速公路进入这条道路。 路上几乎没有电话信号,轮胎漏气很常见,尤其是在带有典型“街道”轮胎的车辆中,而其他可以提供帮助的车辆也很少见。 路面湿滑时,会出现滑溜、粘泥和深车辙的路段,偶尔在冲刷中出现山洪,使道路暂时无法通行。 一旦进入公园,Esplanade 砂岩将成为崎岖的道路。 最后几英里需要良好的离地间隙,坚固的轮胎和四轮驱动在这里真的派上用场。

您知道冬天可以参观大峡谷北缘吗? Toroweap 距离位于北缘的大峡谷国家公园旅馆更经常光顾的观景点有许多英里,通往 Tuweep 的道路不会翻越凯巴布高原。 因此,我们全年提供前往图威普的旅游。 去 Toroweap 的路上偶尔会下雪,但它通常很快就会融化,所以一年中没有多少天会阻止我们跋涉。 Toroweap 的海拔只有 4,600 英尺,而 North Rim Lodge 的海拔则为 8,300 英尺。

Tuweep 的人类历史

Tuweep 地区的第一批人类是冰河时代的猎人,他们在较温和的气候中过着游牧狩猎的生活。 大约 2,000 年前到达的祖先普韦布洛人在该地区耕种。 他们在公元 1300 年左右向东迁移。 最近居住在这里的美洲原住民是派尤特人。 他们现在住在北方。 有 500 Paiutes 居住在 188 平方英里的保留地。 我们在前往 Toroweap 的路上经过了部分保留地,有时我们会在那里看到野马。 约翰·韦斯利·鲍威尔 (John Wesley Powell) 在派尤特 (Paiute) 向导的带领下,于 1870 年访问了图威普。他绘制了许多当地特征并为其命名。 最近,欧洲裔美国人在亚利桑那地带牧场、采矿和定居。 虽然牧场主在 1900 年代初期季节性地使用这个山谷,但第一个全年的宅基地是建于 1927 年的下肯特牧场。一本引人入胜的书讲述了一个家庭的故事,他们在距离 Mt. 特朗布尔:让·卢特雷尔 (Jean Luttrell) 的“亚利桑那地带最后的宅基地”。 她还撰写了《最后的旧时光护林员》,讲述了约翰·里菲 (John Riffey) 的故事,他在 20 年至 1942 年期间担任 Toroweap 护林员。 Riffey 现在被埋葬在 Toroweap,离停在路边的 1980 年古董平地机不远。 Grand Canyon-Parashant National Monument 于 1921 年 11 月 2000 日宣布成立。占地 1,048,325 英亩的纪念碑比罗德岛还要大。

Toroweap 地质解释

在边缘,您所站立的岩石是 Esplanade 砂岩,有 286-320 亿年的历史。 山谷的火山历史是显而易见的,因为高耸的煤渣锥如火神王座和覆盖峡谷壁的明显黑色熔岩流。 大约 7 万年前,沿着 Toroweap 断层开始火山活动。 随着时间的推移,熔岩从 60 多个喷口喷出。 从大约 1.2 万年前开始,熔岩流入 Toroweap 山谷,形成了我们开车经过的平底山谷。 火神王座、特朗布尔山和尤因卡雷特山脉都是火山活动的结果。

从 725,000 到 100,000 年前,科罗拉多河多次被熔岩流拦住。 一个湖被认为有 2,000 英尺深。 地质学家估计它可能需要长达 20 年的时间才能填满。 在接下来的几千年里,流动的水削弱了熔岩坝下较软的河流沉积物。 瀑布会从大坝顶部倾泻而下。 今天,只有熔岩残留物附着在峡谷壁上。

这些熔岩遗迹提供了有关其年龄的关键信息。 在峡谷两侧发现的 7.5-6 万年前的熔岩流表明没有证据表明当时存在峡谷。 来自峡谷底部熔岩流的日期表明,1.2 万年前大峡谷几乎和今天一样深。 大约 5.5 万年前,加利福尼亚湾被构造力打开,科罗拉多河下游形成,从地质学上来说,峡谷在很短的时间内被水切断。

熔岩瀑布

Toroweap 景观的一大亮点是俯瞰熔岩瀑布的下游。 多日漂流冒险的第 10 级高潮位于距李氏渡轮 (Lee's Ferry) 179 英里的河里。 1869 年,即使是约翰·韦斯利·鲍威尔 (John Wesley Powell) 也拒绝在有史以来第一次大峡谷河流探险中尝试。熔岩瀑布在 30 秒内下降了 13 英尺。 急流看起来比 Toroweap 小得多,但使用双筒望远镜,人们可以看到小木筏和皮划艇在陡峭的瀑布后面被挡住时消失一秒钟。 如果您保持不动,您甚至可能会在穿过急流时听到椽子的呼喊声。

野生动物

一路上,我们经常看到地鼠蛇或响尾蛇、棉尾兔和长耳兔以及白色条纹羚羊地松鼠。 还有骡鹿、郊狼、山猫、美洲狮和许多小型啮齿动物和爬行动物。 真正的享受是发现一只美国叉角羚。 叉角羚是西半球速度最快的陆地哺乳动物,通常被认为是仅次于猎豹的世界第二快动物。 他们可以以 35 英里/小时的速度跑 4 英里,以 55 英里/小时的速度跑 0.5 英里。 叉角羚是为速度而生,而不是为跳跃而生。 他们的活动范围有时会被牧场主的围栏切断。 栖息地的保护使叉角羚的数量恢复到估计的 500,000 至 1,000,000 之间。 它们的范围从加拿大向南延伸到明尼苏达州的部分地区、加利福尼亚州南部沿海和墨西哥北部。

梦想史诗般的沙漠冒险? 

随时了解我们何时添加新的远足目的地、背包旅行和摄影工作室。
我们不会向您发送垃圾邮件。 

立即致电按钮

Click Here to Book Online

Overnight Toroweap Photography Tour

Fully Guided Tour

Photography Paradise!

Interesting Geology!

Other Remote North Rim Grand Canyon Tours

Toroweap / Tuweep Tour

Toroweap with Rock Art and Lava Tube

On our day tours we often hear, “I don’t want to leave!” Problem Solved. Our Overnight Toroweap Photography Tours are exclusive, unique Dreamland Safari Tours.

Price

$350.00 for adults
$225.00 for Children (15 & under)

Tour Length

25 Hours

Departure Times

12pm-12pm

Difficulty (1-10)

2

Recommended abilities

Uneven footing and large rocks are the difficulties at Toroweap. Hiking Distance is at guest discretion. There is lots of free time to explore the rim on this wilderness travel adventure tour.
No special permit is required for this tour.

Location

Kanab, UT

Attractions

Toroweap (Tuweep)

Special Interests

Geology, Photography, Wildlife, Flowers
What is included on your tours?

Daytours include pickup and dropoff from local hotels, off-road transportation, natural history narration, guided hiking, photo advice, snacks, water, and lunch on tours of 6 hours or more. Our multi-day tours include all of this plus camping equipment, camp management, three excellent meals, stargazing, sunsets and sunrises for the photographer, and lots more time outside.

How soon should we book?

This depends on several factors, but our best advice is to book as soon as you finalize your plans. We do fill up, and if you have a limited window of opportunity, you may miss out. The smaller your availability window and the tighter your schedule, the earlier you need to book in order to ensure availability. The larger your group, especially if it involves more than one of our trucks (>7 passengers), the earlier you need to book.

How do I reserve my date(s)?

You are able to book online or by contacting us. We do require a 50% deposit to reserve your daytour date(s) and a 1/3 deposit to reserve a multi-day tour. The remaining balance is due the day of your tour at departure. Your guide can take any method of payment.

Can I pay via cash, Paypal, credit card, check?
If you are interested in paying by cash or check please contact us directly. You are able to book online with your credit card or you may contact us by phone to place an order. Because people have abused our policies and we have no recourse, we no longer accept PayPal.
What is your weather policy? What is your cancellation/reschedule policy?

These policies are all found on our Policies Page. PLEASE NOTE: Because of the constantly changing weather, targets moving over the whole region (our trucks), unpredictability of weather forecasts, the complexities of different road surfaces in different areas, the variable nature of storms as far as coverage and volume in this area, and the fact that some of the best photography weather is often on days with a chance of rain, we do not reflexively cancel tours without solid information. However, as your safety is always paramount in situations where incontrovertible evidence leads us to believe that potentially dangerous situations are probable, we will cancel tours if necessary. We will assume tours will run until departure time. We do not cancel tours until departure time as the most relevant information is at hand. Also if we know of a particular area or time that will be a problem we will often consult with all parties on the tour as to how best to go about re-routing, postponement, or cancellation. Trying to manage this on the phone hours before the tour is nearly impossible. If a party decides to cancel prior to departure time for reasons of weather forecasts, the cancellation will be subject to the standard policy. Cancellations made by us at departure will be accompanied by a full refund if no other solution can be reached. Also the information we have at any given time is often incomplete. For example, we do not know if the Wave is covered in snow or if the route is hikeable, whether roads are impassable in a given location etc….as we do not have a webcam at these remote locations. We do try to network to get better information if we can. Sometimes incontrovertible evidence is only found once the tour has begun. Guessing, followed by reflexive cancellations, we have learned, produces more poor results for everyone involved, than the strategy we take. It is very, very complex making these decisions. We are always monitoring the weather and have many years of experience managing the logistics that are affected by weather in this area. Please trust us to act in both our best interests.

What kind of vehicles do we tour in? Do you offer ATV/Jeep Tours?

All of our tours are run in Chevrolet Suburbans or Crew Cab Silverados for comfort and safety. We do not offer ATV or Jeep Tours.

What do I need to bring on a daytour/overnight?

The biggest things you need to remember on a daytour are a small pack to carry your own water (essential especially on tours with more hiking), jacket for warmth and rain (essential), boots or high top sneakers (optional but optimal in sand), any essential medication, and camera. Other items include extra layers when cold, hat, sunglasses, sunscreen, chapstick, and other typical daytime sundries. For scheduled overnights bring all the same except an extra layer or two. You do not need a change of clothes. For overnights in April or October bring a warm hat and gloves. For custom multi-day trips just add a change of clothes or two. On all tours we provide water and snacks. On daytours of more than 6 hours and multi-days more than 24 hours we provide lunch. On scheduled overnights of 24 hours we do not provide lunch so please eat before you come.

What is the weather like there at various times of year?

You can find average monthly temperatures and precipitation for Kanab HERE and also read our BLOG POST on the topic.

We want to do one of your overnight tours, but aren’t able to make any of your scheduled dates. What are our options?

Depending upon our schedule, we may be able to add or shift dates. Please contact us with which tour you are interested in and which dates you are considering. Custom multi-days can be arranged APR-OCT depending on availability.

Guest Experiences on the Toroweap / Tuweep Tour

Very knowledgeable and pleasant guide, no problems traveling to and around very remote location. Visiting Toroweap- the Western part of the Grand Canyon was unforgettable and led to some photos which all my friends and family have been amazed by. Definitely a highlight of a recent long Southwest trip. Only negative is that price seemed to be slightly on the higher end, especially for solo travelers, but in this case well worth it.

Flyer02153382011 – June 8, 2019
TripAdvisor

I’d been wanting to visit Toroweap Overlook for several years, after seeing photos of this amazing place online. However, there was no way I was taking my own car out there and when I found that Dreamland did a day-trip there, I had to book it! My wife & I had a wonderful time. The 60-mile dirt road in was treacherous at times, but our guide Andrea was a skilled driver and navigating everything the road threw at us with no problem. I also was appreciative that Dreamland took note of my request when we booked the trip. Sometimes, if I’m in the back-seat or far back seat of an 8-passenger vehicle, I can get car-sick. I asked about reserving the front seat – and they did it for me! It was a very casual, laid-back, “let’s enjoy the trek in & out and the natural beauty of what we’re going to see” kind of trip, exactly what we were looking for. Dreamland goes to so many destinations – I know that my wife & I will be back in Kanab and book with them again in the future.

davej533 – June 3, 2019
TripAdvisor

My cousin, her friend and I took a trip to Toroweap with Dreamland Safari Tours. Our guide, Steve, is a natural-born outdoor guy who took us on a safe, information packed tour of a remote facade of the Grand Canyon that few people ever see. Steve showed us the beautiful scenery, as well as a herd of pronghorn antelope that ran across our path. We love Dreamland Safari and we will ask for Steve for all future trips.

Discover41920760798 – May 16, 2019
TripAdvisor

We did the White Pocket / South Coyote Buttes tour, and the Peek-a-Boo / White Wave tour. Our guides on both these tours were excellent, they were knowledgeable, helpful, friendly and very personable. The lunch, drinks and snacks provided were very good. I don’t think we could have had any better tours.

Dreamer54252255082 – April 14, 2019
TripAdvisor

I went to Toroweap with Dreamland Safari and had a great time! Elizabeth and Orion are great guides. They are knowledgeable and personable. Toroweap is an amazing place to visit, but very remote. Traveling solo, I wouldn’t have gone by myself. It was great to be with people who know the area and would know what to do if something went wrong. This is my second trip with Dreamland Safari. I took a tour of White Pocket with them in 2017 and had just as great a time. I recommend taking a trip with Dreamland Safari.

ExploreArizona – April 22, 2019
TripAdvisor

Our Overnight Toroweap Photography Tours allow photographers, couples, and families to optimize their wilderness travel adventure at the Remote North Rim Grand Canyon Viewpoint.

Overnight Toroweap Photography Tour

While this tour is often offered on a custom basis to larger groups, we also schedule several standing dates so that couples and singles can take advantage of this Private Grand Canyon Tour.

All in all you get one of the best wilderness travel adventure tour values in the Southwestern USA. This tour includes:

  • Lots more time to enjoy this Remote Grand Canyon Viewpoint
  • Optimal Photographic timing to capture Sunset, Sunrise, and some of the Best Night Skies in the continental United States.
  • Excellent Home-cooked Meals for Dinner and Breakfast. No lunches included.
  • Comfortable Camp Environment with Toilet, Tables, Chairs, Tents, Air Mattresses, Sleeping Bags, and Down Comforters when cold.
  • Safe, Comfortable 4×4 Transportation on 62 miles of rough dirt road.Rides to and from the campsite to the Rim viewpoints can be arranged upon request and with limited availability due to logistical considerations.
  • Wilderness First Responder Guide and Satellite Messenger in Case of Emergency.

The Overnight Toroweap Photography Tours currently scheduled are listed below. Sometimes dates are added, deleted, or shifted so check back from time to time. If you wish to book this tour click the “Book Now” Button below to get started with online booking or give us a call at 435-644-5506. Please also give us a call if you do not see your desired dates below. Overnight season is April-Oct.

2019 DATES

October 16-17

2020 DATES

April 9-10
April 23-24
May 26-27
July 6-7
August 29-30
September 19-20

SPECIAL PERMITS ARE NOT NECESSARY FOR THE OVERNIGHT TOROWEAP PHOTOGRAPHY TOURS. Camping Reservations through the backcountry permit office ARE included in the price and obtained by us well in advance.

PLEASE NOTE: Because of new government requirements we are required to collect contact information for every individual in your group. Please be prepared to submit every participant’s Full Name, Address, Email, and Phone Number. The NPS may also contact any of these people to ensure that they are “verified clients”. We know this is a hassle and are not happy about it either, but we have to comply. Thanks and we apologize or the inconvenience.

Fully Guided Tour

Photography Paradise!

Interesting Geology!

Other Remote North Rim Grand Canyon Tours

Toroweap / Tuweep Tour

Toroweap with Rock Art and Lava Tube

Itinerary

Day 1

12:00pm – Guests meet at at 4350 East Mountain View Drive, Kanab, Utah 84741. They may leave cars or extra bags here. Please eat lunch before you come.

2:45pm – Camping equipment is dropped off at the Toroweap Campground and guests are escorted to the Rim.

3:00pm – Guide orients the group to the Rim Area and Leads a short hiking tour to the upstream and downstream views then returns to camp to set up. Guests have free time until dark/dinner.

7:45 – 8:45pm – Sunset Photography

9:15pm – Dinner (Late Dinner Allows for sunset Photography until dark)

10:00pm til bedtime – Clean up, campfire, discussion, relaxation, astronomy, star photos

Day 2

5:00am – Wake Up call, Coffee and Muffins

6:30 – 7:30am – Sunrise Photography

8:00am – Full Cowboy Breakfast

8:30am – Guide packs up while guests explore the area around camp

9:30am – Depart Toroweap Campground

12:00pm – Arrive in Kanab

About Toroweap

When National Geographic published a special edition commemorating the 100th anniversary of Grand Canyon National Park, they chose a view of Toroweap for its cover. There really is no other Grand Canyon viewpoint like it. Sheer red cliffs drop 3,000 feet into the mighty Colorado River. Standing here feels like standing in the inner gorge of the Grand Canyon – no hiking required. It is less than one mile across the canyon to the Hualapai Indian Reservation on the South Rim, making this one of the narrowest and deepest segments of the inner canyon.

Those standing on the rim at Toroweap can actually hear the turbid river flowing through the giant gorge and rafters hooting and hollering after a thrill ride through Lava Falls. Extensive river views both up and downstream mark Toroweap. The colorful red-rock of the Hermit Shale and Supai sandstones to the east contrast with the black, basaltic lava flows to the west.

Toroweap is the Paiute word for dry or desolate valley. Tuweep came into use to describe the local white settlement and later the park area. The Paiute word Tuweep refers to the earth.

Getting to Toroweap

Our tours traverse Antelope Valley Road, 61 unpaved miles, to this remote Grand Canyon Viewpoint. We access this road from Highway 389 between Fredonia, Arizona and Pipe Spring National Monument. There is little to no phone reception on the road, flat tires are common, especially in vehicles with typical “street” tires, and other vehicles that could offer help are few and far between. Sections of slippery, sticky mud and deep ruts develop when the road is wet, and occasionally flash floods in washes make the road temporarily impassable. Once in the park, the Esplanade sandstone makes for rough road. The last few miles require good ground clearance, sturdy tires and four-wheel drive really comes in handy here.

Did you know you can visit the North Rim of the Grand Canyon in the winter? Toroweap is many miles from the more frequented viewpoints at the Grand Canyon National Park lodge at the North Rim and the road to Tuweep does not climb over the Kaibab Plateau. Therefore, we offer tours to Tuweep year-round. It does occasionally snow on the road to Toroweap, but it usually melts quickly, so there aren’t very many days in a given year that prevent us from making the trek. The elevation at Toroweap is only 4,600 feet, compared to 8,300 at the north rim lodge.

Human History at Tuweep

The first humans in the Tuweep region were ice-age hunters who lived a nomadic hunting-gathering existence in what was a milder climate. The Ancestral Puebloans, arriving about 2,000 years ago, farmed the area. They migrated eastward around A.D.1300. The most recent Native Americans living here were the Paiute. They now live to the north. There are 500 Paiutes living on 188 square-mile reservation. We pass through part of that reservation on the way to Toroweap, and sometimes we spot wild horses there. John Wesley Powell, led by a Paiute guide, visited Tuweep in 1870. He mapped and named many of the local features. More recently, European-Americans ranched, mined, and settled the Arizona Strip. While ranchers used this valley seasonally in the early 1900s, the first year-round homestead was the Lower Kent Ranch, which was built in 1927. A fascinating book recounts the tale of one family who homesteaded about 20 miles from Toroweap near Mt. Trumbull: “The Last Homesteaders of the Arizona Strip” by Jean Luttrell. She also penned “The Last Old Time Ranger,” which tells the story of John Riffey, who served as ranger of Toroweap from 1942-1980. Riffey is now buried at Toroweap, not far from the 1921 antique pull grader that rests beside the road. Grand Canyon-Parashant National Monument was declared on Jan. 11, 2000. The 1,048,325-acre monument is larger than Rhode Island.

Toroweap Geology Explained

At the rim, the  rock you are standing on is Esplanade Sandstone, which is 286-320 million years old. The valley’s volcanic history is apparent because of the towering cinder cones such as Vulcan’s Throne and obvious black lava flows that coat the walls of the canyon. Volcanic activity began along the Toroweap fault around 7 million years ago. Over time, lava issued from more than 60 vents. Beginning about 1.2 million years ago, lava flowed into Toroweap Valley, forming the flat-bottomed valley we drive through. Vulcan’s Throne, Mount Trumbull and the Uinkaret Mountains are all the result of volcanic activity.

The Colorado River was dammed by lava flows multiple times from 725,000 to 100,000 years ago. One lake was believed to be 2,000 feet deep. Geologists estimate it could have taken as long as 20 years to fill. Over the next several thousand years, flowing water undercut the softer river sediment beneath the lava dam. Waterfalls would have poured over the top of the dams. Today, there are only remnants of lava clinging to the canyon walls.

These lava remnants provide key information about its age. Lava flows 7.5-6 million years old found on both sides of the canyon show no evidence that a canyon existed at that time. And a date from a lava flow in the bottom of the canyon indicates that 1.2 million years ago the Grand Canyon was almost as deep as it is today. By about 5.5 million years ago, the Gulf of California was opened up by tectonic forces, and the lower Colorado River was formed and water cut the canyon in a very short time, geologically speaking.

Lava Falls

One highlight of the Toroweap view is looking downstream over Lava Falls. This class 10 climax to multi-day rafting adventure is at river mile 179 from Lee’s Ferry. Even John Wesley Powell refused to attempt it on the first ever Grand Canyon river expedition in 1869.  Lava Falls drops 30 feet in 13 seconds. The rapids appear much smaller than they are from Toroweap, but with a pair of binoculars, one can watch small rafts and kayaks disappear for a second as they are blocked behind the steep falls. If you hold still, you might even hear the rafters shouting when then make it through the rapids.

Wildlife

Along the way, we often spot gopher snakes or rattlesnakes, cottontail and jackrabbits and white striped antelope ground squirrels. There are also mule deer, coyote, bobcats, mountain lions and many small rodents and reptiles. A real treat is spotting an American pronghorn. The pronghorn is the fastest land mammal in the Western Hemisphere and is often cited as the second fastest in the world behind a cheetah.  They can run 35 mph for 4 miles and 55 mph for 0.5 mi. Pronghorns are built for speed, not for jumping. Their ranges are sometimes cut off by ranchers’ fences. The protection of habitat has allowed pronghorn numbers to recover to an estimated population between 500,000 and 1,000,000. Their range extends from Canada south through parts of Minnesota, coastal southern California and northern Mexico.